Self-Realization through Yoga Meditation of the Yoga Sutras, the contemplative insight of Advaita Vedanta, and the intense devotion of Samaya Sri Vidya Tantra

Home Site Map  




The Ten Names

Adi Shankaracharya (8th century CE) organized monks into into ten orders (dasa=ten, nami=names). Many, possibly most, although not all swamis are related to one of these. Each related to common characteristics of the monks of each of the orders, as it was at that time. In the past 1200 years, however, there is not such a close relationship to the underlying meaning of the name. For example, it may have been true at one time that the monks of the Puri order "lived in the cities", although that is not a requirement, and swamis today of Puri dasnami live any a diversity of locations, some in cities, and some not. The relation to the name is nominal, at best.

Swami Rama writes in Living with the Himalayan Masters: "Our tradition is Bharati. Bha means 'knowledge'; rati means 'lover.' Bharati means 'he who is the lover of knowledge.' From this comes the word Bharata, the land of spiritual knowledge, one of the Sanskrit names used for India." Swami Rama's linkage to Bharati comes from his initiation as Dandi (staff carrying) swami, which was given to him by a leader of swamis who was of the Bharati order. At that time Swami Rama became known as Dandi Swami Sadashiva Bharati. It was much later that he took the name Swami Rama.

Bharati: full of light

Giri: live in the mountains

Puri: live in the cities

Saraswati: scholars

Van: live in forests

Aranya: live in groves

Tirtha: live in pilgrimage places

Parvat: live in the high mountains

Sagar: live at the ocean

Nath: defenders of the faith






This site is devoted to presenting the ancient Self-Realization path of the Tradition of the Himalayan masters in simple, understandable and beneficial ways, while not compromising quality or depth. The goal of our sadhana or practices is the highest Joy that comes from the Realization in direct experience of the center of consciousness, the Self, the Atman or Purusha, which is one and the same with the Absolute Reality. This Self-Realization comes through Yoga meditation of the Yoga Sutras, the contemplative insight of Advaita Vedanta, and the intense devotion of Samaya Sri Vidya Tantra, the three of which complement one another like fingers on a hand. We employ the classical approaches of Raja, Jnana, Karma, and Bhakti Yoga, as well as Hatha, Kriya, Kundalini, Laya, Mantra, Nada, Siddha, and Tantra Yoga. Meditation, contemplation, mantra and prayer finally converge into a unified force directed towards the final stage, piercing the pearl of wisdom called bindu, leading to the Absolute.