Self-Realization through Yoga Meditation of the Yoga Sutras, the contemplative insight of Advaita Vedanta, and the intense devotion of Samaya Sri Vidya Tantra

Home Site Map  




Guru Chakra
by Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati 

Guru Chakra: Beyond the first six chakras, between there and the Crown Chakra (Sahasrara Chakra), many other chakras, levels, or layers of reality are experienced. For the aspirant who is willing to do so, the Guru Chakra is used to purify the mind and to bring down spiritual truths. "Gu" means darkness and "ru" means light. Guru is the light that dispels the darkness of ignorance. Guru is not any person, although guru may operate through a person. Guru is actually the higher knowledge itself.

Also known as Jnana Chakra: Guru Chakra is the doorway to that knowledge, to the wisdom and guidance of the teacher within. The sixth chakra, at the eyebrow center, is called Ajna Chakra, which includes "a" and "jna", which means the center without knowledge or with little knowledge ("a" is without and "jna" is knowledge). Guru Chakra is experienced in the forehead, and is also called Jnana Chakra, or the center with knowledge. The knowledge of Ajna is lower knowledge, while the knowledge of Jnana is higher knowledge.

Surrender your senses into your own mind,
not into the mind of another person.
Surrender your mind into your own intelligence,
not to a man, woman, or institution.
Surrender your intelligence into pure consciousness,
not to the consciousness of another human.
Surrender everything you think you are into the
pure inner light of guru within,
not a self-proclaimed guru without.
(Swami Jnaneshvara)

Offering thoughts to the fire: The Yogi invites all of the thoughts and samskaras to arise in the mind field of Ajna Chakra and offers them into the higher knowledge, the triangular shaped fire of Guru or Jnana Chakra (Ajna and Guru Chakras are also called drikuti and trikuti respectively). Like ice melting back into its form of water, the colorings of attraction, aversion and fear fall away in the inner fire. It has also been likened to gold being purified in a fire, whereby the dross burns away, allowing the gold to become purer. From that process the pathway is cleared, and higher wisdom and teachings come down to the Ajna. Eventually, awareness itself travels upward, receding through and beyond, to That which is the final abode, the Absolute, the union of Shiva and Shakti. (See also Yoga Sutras 2.4 and 2.10-2.11 on attenuating the colorings)

Visualizing and inner realities: Initially, it may seem that this practice is only one of inner visualization. It is actually a literal practice dealing with the energy levels of the colorings (kleshas). Like all discussions of practice relating to energy, the energy itself might not be experienced as such initially, though it will in time. In a sense, it really doesn't matter how you conceptualize the practice; it is effective in any case.

Beginning and Advanced meditation: The practice of using Guru Chakra is one that can be used from the very beginning of learning meditation. It is extremely effective. However, not understanding the process, the beginning meditator may not be willing or interested in actually pursuing this practice. In the early stages, it can seem that goal is to "get rid of" the thought patterns in the mind field. Because of this, the full fruits of this practice may only come in the more advanced stages of meditation. By being aware of this, it may be easier for the early practitioner to go ahead and experiment with this fine practice. (See also the article on Beginning, Intermediate and Advanced meditation)





This site is devoted to presenting the ancient Self-Realization path of the Tradition of the Himalayan masters in simple, understandable and beneficial ways, while not compromising quality or depth. The goal of our sadhana or practices is the highest Joy that comes from the Realization in direct experience of the center of consciousness, the Self, the Atman or Purusha, which is one and the same with the Absolute Reality. This Self-Realization comes through Yoga meditation of the Yoga Sutras, the contemplative insight of Advaita Vedanta, and the intense devotion of Samaya Sri Vidya Tantra, the three of which complement one another like fingers on a hand. We employ the classical approaches of Raja, Jnana, Karma, and Bhakti Yoga, as well as Hatha, Kriya, Kundalini, Laya, Mantra, Nada, Siddha, and Tantra Yoga. Meditation, contemplation, mantra and prayer finally converge into a unified force directed towards the final stage, piercing the pearl of wisdom called bindu, leading to the Absolute.